

CONTACT:

Donica Kennon
Public Information Officer
404.392.5124
dkennon@dekalbcountyga.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

SEPTEMBER 1, 2020

DeKalb Superior Court and Clerk of Superior CourtReceive The Clearance Rate Excellence Award

Decatur, GA — DeKalb Superior Court and Clerk of Superior Court have been recognized for the 2019 award year for **The Clearance Rate Excellence Award** by The Standing Committee on Judicial Workload Assessment and the Research staff at the Administrative Office of the Courts. The award was created in 2018 to acknowledge courts that are keeping up with their incoming caseload. Ideally, courts should strive to achieve a clearance rate goal of 100% or higher. DeKalb Superior Court and Clerk of Superior Court's average three-year clearance rate is 263%.

Clerk Debra DeBerry states, "Your DeKalb County Superior Court is working for you, for our citizens and with the same commitment during a pandemic. We are honored to receive this award. It is with the dedication and hard work of our Superior Court employees that we receive this award."

The Superior Courts of Georgia is a court of general jurisdiction handling both civil and criminal law actions. Superior Court Judges preside over cases involving contract disputes, premises liability, and various other actions. In addition, the Superior Court has exclusive equity jurisdiction over all cases of divorce, title to land, and felonies involving jury trials, including death penalty cases. DeKalb County Superior Court Judges hear thousands of cases per year making this award especially meaningful as expressed by each of the Judges.

CEO Michael Thurmond and the DeKalb Board of Commissioners are greatly appreciated for working with the courts to pass budgets to operate effectively and efficiently. Also, Magistrate Court, the District Attorney's Office, and the Public Defender's Office are key factors in the courts being able to achieve high clearance rates.

(MORE)

DeKalb Superior Court Judges:

Judge Courtney L. Johnson, Division 1
Judge Asha F. Jackson, Division 2 – Chief Judge – Presiding Judge
Judge Clarence F. Seeliger, Division 3
Judge Shondeana C. Morris, Division 4
Judge Gregory A. Adams, Division 5
Judge Stacey K. Hydrick, Division 6
Judge LaTisha Dear Jackson, Division 7
Judge Linda W. Hunter, Division 8
Judge Mark Anthony Scott, Division 9
Judge Tangela Barrie, Division 10



CONTACT:

Donica Kennon
Public Information Officer
404.392.5124
dkennon@dekalbcountyga.gov



###